Careers.

la-defense-1160086-m

Ah, the topic of a career.  Does is really hold a single meaning anymore? Or is it bait more subjective these days? I’m going to go with the latter. Since high school I’ve been hearing that the average professional changes their career about 7-8 times in their life. Well according to Bing Dictionary the definition of a career is a “long-term or lifelong job: a job or occupation regarded as a long-term or lifelong activity.”

http://www.bing.com/search?q=career+definition&qs=AS&pq=career+definitio&sc=8-16&sp=1&FORM=QBLH&cvid=8bc6a33935a24a97a6527db74d8520f9

I’m sure it can be agreed upon that those two are very contradictory. So where does the problem lie? I say that the problem is the way we’ve all been trained to find a career by Bing Dictionary’s definition of the term. I agree, some people find there niche and love it. My mom was a teacher since about 18 years old and stayed a teacher for more than 35 years, so I’m well aware that having a legitimate career is a real thing. I don’t agree with the idea that everyone needs to find a career though and work at that their whole life.

Personally, I am excited to experiment with different jobs. There is so much I am interested in doing. I can’t wait to try different things and discover more about myself and what I like to do or am good at doing. That use to scare me. I use to think I absolutely had to find something I was good at and loved doing now, before I got into the scary real world awaiting my arrival. Well through a class with Dave Allen, a professor at the University of Oregon, I realized that I don’t have to be just an advertising or public relations professional. I can offer so much more than just those skill sets. That got me out of my scared state of mind and pushed me into an ambitious excited state. I hope I get to try multiple different jobs and discover different places and grow as a professional. And not just an advertising or public relations professional, but a well rounded, experience individual.

This entry was posted in Journalism/Advertising, Journalism/Public Relation, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

