Rivals.

footbed

I was watching a segment on ESPN’s SportCenter earlier tonight. The segment was talking about College Gameday for tomorrow, November 2nd. The Florida State Seminoles play against the Miami Hurricanes. The Seminoles are ranked 3rd in the nation while the Hurricanes are ranked 7th.

The Focus of the segment was not just about how closely the teams were ranked or how good of a game it should be. It focused on the fact that this was a rivalry game. They had people speak on rivalries and what they are like. I grew up with two big rivalries. Oregon Ducks and Oregon State Beavers being one, and another being South Carolina Gamecocks and the Clemson Tigers. So I grew up knowing a good amount about rivalries.

One thing that stood out to me most was what one of the guest speakers on the segment said, “It’s not like playing your enemy, it’s like playing your brother.”

I don’t know if I agree with this statement. I feel like in the rivalries I’m familiar with, it’s definitely like they’re your enemy and most people I know treat it the same way. There is no brotherly love, there is hard feelings and I promise you there is hostility.

I am not extremely familiar with the FSU/MIA rivalry, but I’m sure that it’s similar to the ones I’ve grown up with. So what was this guy on SportCenter talking about? Well it turns out he wasn’t an analyst, he wasn’t a player and he wasn’t a coach. In fact, they didn’t even list a title for him, they just listed his name. So who was this person that ESPN decided was important enough to comment on the matter.

This just comes back to the topic of creditable sources. I never would have thought twice about it without what I’ve learned in school. But you have to have credible sources or why would the audience listen to you, believe you, or even care about what was said. ESPN should have known better than to try to sneak that by us.

This is an example of bad journalism.

http://www.wikihow.com/Evaluate-the-Credibility-of-a-Source

This entry was posted in Journalism/Advertising, Journalism/Public Relation, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

